A Neuro-Psycho-Mystery: Freak Dream


ku-mediumEverything was normal and routine to start with. My family and friends were as I knew them to be. The neighbourhood I lived in was in order, and I could identify with it completely. I decided to visit my best friend’s home and left.

FLASH!

Something had changed, but I just didn’t know that something had changed. My best friend used to live on the 1st floor of an old building. However, I found myself at the enormous gates of a large, 10 storey building. Everything was grand. Surprisingly the lift lobby on the ground level was flooded and the water level was up to my ankle. Somehow I made it across lift lobby, took the stairs and headed for the 1st floor. As I emerged on the 1st floor, I entered a huge parking lot.

The distance between the floor and the ceiling on the level was equal to that of the vertical span of 2 storeys! As I proceeded exploring the parking lot, I spotted a girl playing with a ball that was hanging from the ceiling. She wore a t-shirt that was familiar to me. She identified herself as my best friend’s sister, but I just did not remember her! She took me to her house on the 10th floor but there was no one at home. She said that her sister did not live there anymore, and had gone to university. So, my best friend did not live where I thought she lived, anymore. I realized that something had changed big time. On the way down, the elevator moved lightning fast.

As it halted, I was surprised to notice that it had brought me to the 3rd floor. The elevator shaft terminated at the 3rd floor itself. Moreover, the floor’s horizontal was at an angle to the horizontal of the ground 3 floors below. This was knocking my senses out of balance. I was forced to walk down the remaining levels and left the area.

FLASH!

I returned back to where my building was located. I was surprised even more to see that an ultra-modern, 70-80 storey residential tower stood there instead of MY building. There were vast play fields around, with structures similar to soccer goal posts, and basketball hoops. Luckily I found my family’s name on the electronic name board at the ground floor. When I reached the floor tagged 75.5, I saw my house’s main door. I rung the bell and was let in by a lady who seemed very happy to see me. As I entered in, I came across more and more people who expressed happiness to see me and spoke to me energetically. But, I didn’t know any of them! I was blank, thinking to myself why these people were treating me like I had just returned from some exile. No prizes for guessing that my house did not look like I always thought it looked like. The floor map, the rooms, the wall paint as well as the bathrooms were all different.

I wildly hunted for my mother. As a saviour from my mental torture, I found her to be exactly the same as I always knew her. What a breather. But I should not have become complacent.

I asked for the phone and happily dialled my best friend’s mobile number: +91 9*6***13*1. I couldn’t get through. My mother asked what the problem was and offered to try once more for me. As soon as I told her the number: +91 9*… she stopped me abruptly. She asked me what our own phone number was. When I said +91 22 23**4**2, she was shocked. She pointed at the list of phone numbers on the wall and they were such as: +456 @#$ 98690 A 38654 %^&. I felt my heart pound against my chest. My world had been upended.

I started running and headed for the ground floor. I made my way to the basketball court where my father and a few others seemed to be playing. But as I neared the area, I seemed to lose motor control and felt dizzy. Something was going wrong with ME now. My dad offered to lift me up so that I could jump and reach out to the hoop. I could not believe that flying all the way to the hoop was even possible had I been normal. He insisted that that’s how the game was played and started running for a jump himself. To my astonishment, he was running super-fast. He leaped forward and flew toward the hoops just as Micheal Jordan did in Space Jam! I was definitely not well.

FLASH!

This is the most bizarre part of the experience. I was being operated on. I was going through live surgery, in full consciousness. All the more surprising was that I could feel no pain whatsoever! The surgeons told me that they were transplanting new organs inside me. I could see the surgeons processing my new organs in some sort of white flame!

I cannot recall any more of this freak show of an experience. And I am glad I cannot.

What do you do when there is a sudden and complete mismatch between your perception of your actual world and the impression of your actual world that you have always had in your mind? The one – one mapping between these two spaces seems to have endured a destructive linear transformation in space and time. Absolutely nothing makes sense. You feel like everything is a big united farce!

If and when you do recover just a little from this theatre of complexity, you will be fired up to find the inverse transformation to set things right. You will try to find reasons that will help you map points in the 2D transform space. Your frustration will lead you to want to join the dots and approximate the devil transformation!

I’m going at it all out now. Wish me luck!

Dhruv Chokshi
(I’m sure my name has not changed)

This entry was posted in Abstract, Dream Theatre and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

